URLGAME.RU

Seven Pillars of Wisdom


Seven Pillars of Wisdom.

2542 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

T.E Lawrence Seven Pillars of Wisdom

Lawrence of Arabia Seven Pillars of Wisdom & The Evolution of a Revolt

Lawrence T. E. Seven Pillars of Wisdom


With an Introduction by Angus Calder. As Angus Calder states in his introduction to this edition, 'Seven Pillars of Wisdom is one of the major statements about the fighting experience of the First World War'. Lawrence's younger brothers, Frank and Will, had been killed on the Western Front in 1915. Seven Pillars of Wisdom, written between 1919 and 1926, tells of the vastly different campaign against the Turks in the Middle East - one which encompasses gross acts of cruelty and revenge and ends in a welter of stink and corpses in the disgusting 'hospital' in Damascus. Seven Pillars of Wisdom is no Boys Own Paper tale of Imperial triumph, but a complex work of high literary aspiration which stands in the tradition of Melville and Dostoevsky, and alongside the writings of Yeats, Eliot and Joyce.

702 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

T. E. Lawrence Seven Pillars of Wisdom (Rediscovered Books)

Lawrence of Arabia Seven Pillars of Wisdom & The Evolution of a Revolt (Illustrated Edition)


Seven Pillars of Wisdom is the autobiographical account of the experiences of British soldier T. E. Lawrence («Lawrence of Arabia»), while serving as a liaison officer with rebel forces during the Arab Revolt against the Ottoman Turks of 1916 to 1918. In 1919 he had been elected to a seven-year research fellowship at All Souls College, Oxford, providing him with support while he worked on the book. In addition to being a memoir of his experiences during the war, certain parts also serve as essays on military strategy, Arabian culture and geography, and other topics. Lawrence re-wrote Seven Pillars of Wisdom three times; once «blind» after he lost the manuscript while changing trains at Reading railway station. Lawrence acknowledged having been helped in the editing of the book by George Bernard Shaw. In the preface to Seven Pillars, Lawrence offered his «thanks to Mr. and Mrs. Bernard Shaw for countless suggestions of great value and diversity: and for all the present semicolons».
Thomas Edward Lawrence (1888-1935) was a British archaeologist, military officer, and diplomat. He was renowned for his liaison role during the Sinai and Palestine Campaign, and the Arab Revolt against Ottoman Turkish rule of 1916-18. The breadth and variety of his activities and associations, and his ability to describe them vividly in writing, earned him international fame as Lawrence of Arabia—a title used for the 1962 film based on his First World War activities.

43.55 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

Oracle of the 7 Energies: A 49-Card Deck and PDF Guidebook Cards wisdom of the energy of seven

Musharraf Hussain Seven Steps to Spiritual Intelligence


"When you are spiritually intelligent you become more aware of the big picture, for yourself and the universe, and your place and purpose in it."—Tony BuzanHow do we develop a spiritual intelligence? How do we change ourselves so that we can live by the universal spiritual values? Seven Steps to Spiritual Intelligence tells us how to do do so, while also summarizing fourteen centuries of spiritual wisdom in Islamic literature, from the great scholars and Sufis of Spain, Morocco, Turkey, and India. Musharraf Hussain , PhD, OBE, is the director of the Karimia Institute in Nottingham, United Kingdom. He has written numerous books on Islam including The Five Pillars of Islam and Seven Steps to Moral Intelligence .

225.32 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

T. E. Lawrence The Collected Works of T. E. Lawrence (Lawrence of Arabia)


Musaicum Books presents to you this carefully created collection of T. E. Lawrence aka the Lawrence of Arabia. This ebook has been designed and formatted to the highest digital standards and adjusted for readability on all devices.
Thomas Edward Lawrence (1888-1935) was a British archaeologist, military officer, and diplomat. He was renowned for his liaison role during the Sinai and Palestine Campaign, and the Arab Revolt against Ottoman Turkish rule of 1916-18. The breadth and variety of his activities and associations, and his ability to describe them vividly in writing, earned him international fame as Lawrence of Arabia. Throughout his life, Lawrence was a prolific writer. A large portion of his output was epistolary; he often sent several letters a day.
Seven Pillars of Wisdom is an account of his war experiences. In 1919 he had been elected to a seven-year research fellowship at Oxford, providing him with support while he worked on the book. In addition to being a memoir of his experiences during the war, certain parts also serve as essays on military strategy, Arabian culture and geography, and other topics. Lawrence re-wrote Seven Pillars of Wisdom three times; once «blind» after he lost the manuscript while changing trains at Reading railway station.
The Mint is a memoir of his experiences as an enlisted man in the Royal Air Force (RAF). It concerns the period following the First World War when Lawrence decided to disappear from public view. He enlisted in RAF under an assumed name, becoming 352087 Aircraftman Ross. The book is a closely observed autobiographical account of his experiences. He worked from a notebook that he kept while enlisted, writing of the daily lives of enlisted men and his desire to be a part of something larger than himself: the Royal Air Force.
Table of Contents:
Seven Pillars of Wisdom
The Mint
The Evolution of a Revolt
Translations:
The Odyssey
The Forest Giant
Letters (1915-1935)

87.99 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

Группа авторов Where Wisdom May Be Found


All Christian colleges and universities hail the integration of faith and learning as a premier mission objective. There is less agreement as to what the integration of faith and learning should look like in pedagogical and cross-disciplinary terms. This volume proposes that faith and learning are interrelated from the start. Discovery of truth within the academic disciplines cultivates discipline-specific wisdom that both accords with all reality and complements the whole counsel of God. Where Wisdom May Be Found brings together a faculty of twenty-seven accomplished voices from across curricula to celebrate each field's capacity for revealing wisdom from all corners of God's creative design. In synthesis, these voices declare the depth and richness of the wisdom and knowledge of God for the educational advancement and holistic equipping of the corporate people of God.

3030.3 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire. Ultimate Edition [PS4]


Pillars of Eternity II: Deadfire – это сиквел к Pillars of Eternity, которая вышла в 2015 году, также заслужив расположение игроков на РС (а позже и консольных геймеров), а также высочайшие оценки критиков. Еще до выхода на PC игра была выставлена разработчиками Obsidian Entertainment на краудфандинговую платформу Fig (аналог Kickstarter) и собрала в 4 раза больше, чем изначально планировалось – 4,7 миллионов долларов.

2912 RUR
Versus Evil

Versus Evil / / похожие

Подробнее

Pillars of Eternity. The White March: Part II. Дополнение [PC, Цифровая версия] (Цифровая версия)


Pillars of Eternity. The White March. Part II – это завершение эпического дополнения для популярной ролевой игры Pillars of Eternity. Вернувшись на морозный север, вы раскроете новые секреты богов Эоры, а благодаря помощи новых союзников, ваш отряд сможет справиться с новыми испытаниями, врагами и боссами.

349 RUR
Paradox Interactive

Paradox Interactive / / похожие

Подробнее

Джеймс Аллен Eight Pillars of Prosperity

Malcolm D. Allen The Medievalism of Lawrence of Arabia


M. D. Allen's study deals with T. E. Lawrence's lifelong interest in the medieval world, especially medieval literature, and its considerable influence on his view of himself and of the Arabs with whom he fought in an archaic theater of war, and hence his own literary production. The Medievalism of Lawrence of Arabia investigates the influence Lawrence's interest in medieval life and literature had on his attitudes toward life in general and—in content, theme, and diction—on his masterpiece, Seven Pillars of Wisdom , in particular. Allen begins with a brief biography of Lawrence—his early interest in things medieval and his somewhat controversial BA thesis on crusader castles. Allen then reveals the extent to which Lawrence's ideas about honor, warfare, and chivalry in the Arab war against the Turks were shaped by his reading in medieval writings such as Malory's Morte d'Arthur . (Both, as he makes clear, were warrior societies dominated by horses.) Lawrence's reading in the nineteenth-century medievalism is also explored, as in Tennyson's Idylls of the King , and Ruskin's writing on art, where the parallel between Ruskin's ideas on ornament and Lawrence's ideas about the dignity of war is demonstrated. Allen then identifies the medieval and neomedieval texts of Seven Pillars of Wisdom and shows why and to what effect Lawrence borrowed from chivalric, neochivalric, and pseudochivalric works, and sometimes transmogrified them, revealing Lawrence's greatest inspiration to be an English translation of the Moallakat (which is, so to speak, the Arabic Beowulf ). Allen sheds new light on many aspects of the influence of medievalism on Lawrence's thought and writing.

2196.21 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

Benjamin W. Farley Transcendence and Fulfillment


Farley's Transcendence and Fulfillment captures one's immediate attention, especially with his designation of Paul's «Seven Pillars of Wisdom.» Readers will find his selection intriguing and illuminating. While being faithful to Paul's self-understanding and theological views, Farley offers a constructive and critical examination of the pillars' relevance for Paul's time as well as our own. The author blends biblical insight with a range of classical and contemporary philosophical opinion. In doing so, he draws on Plato and Cicero's wisdom, in addition to the critical works of Kierkegaard, Heidegger, Marcel, and Berdyaev. Students and professors of Paul's life and theology, along with clergy and lay admirers of Paul's views, will find Farley's book a useful resource for a provocative yet spiritually rich journey, true to Paul's teachings and of enduring relevance.

1363.64 RUR

/ / похожие

Подробнее

Джеймс Аллен Eight Pillars of Prosperity

Джеймс Аллен Eight Pillars of Prosperity

Джеймс Аллен Eight Pillars Of Prosperity

Джеймс Аллен Eight Pillars of Prosperity

Джеймс Аллен Eight Pillars of Prosperity

urlgame.ru — Каталог цен и описаний на компьютерную и бытовую технику, товары для офис и дома, электронику, товаров для сада и дачи. Мы занимаемся поиском лучших цен в интернет магазинах по всей России, знаем где купить Seven Pillars of Wisdom по оптимальной цене в онлайн-магазинах. На нашем сайте urlgame.ru предоставлена вся необходимая информация для правильной покупки Seven Pillars of Wisdom — фотографии товаров, отзывы пользователей, поиск по модели и производителю, наименованию или модели, инструкции по эксплуатации, а так же экспертные обзоры, сайты предлагающие покупу онлайн с доставкой заказа в ваш город.